Essex IV

Edited by: 
W. R. Powell
First Published: 
1 January, 1956

This volume contains the history of Ongar Hundred covering the parishes of. Bobbingworth, Chigwell, Fyfield, Greenstead, Kelvedon Hatch, Lambourne, High Laver, Little Laver, Magdalen Laver, Loughton, Moreton, Navestock, Norton Mandeville, Chipping Ongar, High Ongar, Abbess Roding, Beauchamp Roding, Shelley, Stanford Rivers, Stapleford Abbots, Stapleford Tawney, Stondon Massey, Theydon Bois, Theydon Garnon, Theydon Mount, North Weald Bassett. It also contains analysis of Some Medieval Tax Assessments, analysis of Hearth Tax Assessments, and analysis of Bishop Compton's Census of 1676.