Status: Active, 7 volumes published

The Northamptonshire VCH Trust is currently supporting work on a volume covering Towcester Hundred. A Working Group set up in 2015 brings together volunteers, contractors and other contributors, who are researching and writing the history of the town and the surrounding villages. If you are interested in getting involved please contact David Harries at

The Northamptonshire Trust started work in 1997 under the chairmanship of The Rt Hon The Lord Naseby. The first ‘big red book’ for 65 years (Volume V on Cleley Hundred near Towcester, currently available to view at was published in 2002. Previous volumes have covered Natural History, Archaeology, and Domesday Book (Volume I); Ecclesiastical History, Soke of Peterborough, and Willybrook Hundred (Volume II); Northampton Borough, Polebrook, Navisford, and Huxloe Hundreds, and Borough of Higham Ferrers (Volume III); and Higham Ferrers, Spelhoe, Hamfordshoe, Orlingbury, and Wymersley Hundreds (Volume IV). A sixth volume, Modern Industry, was published in 2007.

Volume 7 of the Northamptonshire set of red books was published in 2013. This volume covers Corby, from its origins as a rural village in the medieval Rockingham forest to the designation of the New Town in 1950 and beyond, and the neighbouring parish of Great Oakley, which was most affected by Corby's extraordinary 20th-century expansion.  

VCH Northamptonshire is a not-for-profit organisation supported by The Northamptonshire Trust (registered charity no. 1051380) and the Institute of Historical Research. 


Northants vol 1 imprint page
W. Ryland D. Adkins and R. M. Serjeantson
Jan 1902
Rev R. M. Serjeantson and W. Ryland D. Adkins
Jan 1906
William Page
Jan 1930
L. F. Salzman
Jan 1937
Philip Riden
Dec 2002

News and events

Job alert: VCH Northamptonshire seeks two contributing editors
Promotion Event for Next Northamptonshire Volume
VCH Northants VIII - researchers and authors sought
Corby and Great Oakley volume launched at The Cube
Available now

Work in progress

Volume VIII covers the historic market town of Towcester and the parishes which...