Yorkshire, East Riding

Status: Active, 9 volumes published

The Victoria History of the County of York was planned to comprise five distinct sets of volumes, three of which have been completed. Work continues in Yorkshire East Riding and research has begun on the next volume, focusing on the history Howden and Howdenshire,

The Yorkshire 'sets'

The first of the three Yorkshire sets – three volumes describing Yorkshire in general and an index volume – was published between 1907 and 1925. The prehistory and ecclesiastical and economic history of the county are among the topics treated in the general volumes. The topographical treatment of the county, giving more detailed and fully-referenced accounts of areas on a parish-by-parish basis, began in the North Riding, for which two volumes and an index volume appeared between 1914 and 1925. The third completed set, a single volume on the city of York, came out in 1961, after work had restarted in the 1950s with funding from the local authorities. Work in the West Riding has begun and one parish entry can be found here.

The East Riding 'set'

For the East Riding nine volumes have been published. The first, which appeared in 1969, was devoted to the City of Kingston-upon-Hull. Other volumes devoted to the town of Beverley, and parishes in the wapentake of Harthill and Holderness followed. The most recent volume, Volume IX Great Driffield and its Townships by the well-known East Riding historians, David and Susan Neave, was published in 2012.


Yorkshire East Riding Vol I
K. J. Allison
Jan 1969
Yorkshire East Riding Vol II
K.J. Allison
Jan 1974
Yorkshire East Riding Vol III
K.J. Allison
Jan 1976
Yorkshire East Riding Vol IV
K.J. Allison
Jan 1979
Yorkshire East Riding Vol V
K.J. Allison
Jan 1984

News and events

Driffield volume launched by Lord Lieutenant
Order your copy now!
Hockney and Yorkshire East Riding
Former VCH Director gives talk in Yorkshire

Work in progress

Yorkshire East Riding X: Howden and Howdenshire explores an area which belo...