Opposite Nos. 1–2, former commercial use can be seen in Weavers and Tiverton Cottages.
This near-continuous run of cottages begins with Nos. 1–2 , where stonework shows that a first-floor central casement has been removed.
Burford's earliest surviving inn building is the front part of the New Inn at 124 High Street (built c.1401).
To medieval parishioners, heaven and hell were not abstract ideas but reality, reinforced by the wall paintings which adorned most parish churches.
The analysis of medieval towns relies on the fact that the property boundaries which define urban house-plots (burgages) are very unlikely to chang
NORTHFIELD END is the name for the stretch of road which links the Fairmile (from Bix and Assendon) with the northern end of Bell Street, on the to
Henley's central streets originated probably in the late 12th century, when the planned town of Henley was laid out alongside the river within a pr
BELL STREET is one of Henley's four main central streets, running southwards from Northfield End on the town's outskirts to the central crossroads
Image: Norman Avenue, developed by the Henley builder Charles Clements from c.1885.
The diaries of Caroline Powys (1738-1817) are one of the most vibrant and entertaining sources for the social life of the gentry and aristocracy in