VCH Explore

Explore England's Past

Former workhouse in Middle Street

Probably because the workhouse was overcrowded a new three-storey building with five rooms on each floor, some heated and several interconnected, was erected in Middle Street. By 1838 the paupers had left, presumably transferred to the workhouse at Williton, and it was proposed to convert the building into five cottages with one room per floor and a communal passage to the garden. Finally it was divided into three plain cottages, presumably because there were three chimneys.

University of London