VCH Explore

Explore England's Past

Yankee Jack's Cottage

This 17th-century cottage with its back to the shore at the west end of Market Street was the home of John Short after his marriage to Anne Marie Wedlake. At the other end of the street is the c.1820 Market house with the chapel of Holy Cross above. The market hall is now a museum, well worth a visit to find out more about Watchet, as is the boat museum beside the station housed in a former goods shed and containing several boats that would have been familiar to Yankee Jack.

University of London
Image Caption: 
Yankee Jack's cottage in Watchet