VCH Explore

Explore England's Past

Burford's Buildings, Witney Street

North Side

Several houses at Witney Street's north-west end (before the modern cul-de-sac of Sylvester Close) began as outbuildings for premises on High Street. No. 3 (The Coach House), now lit by 20th-century windows to the street, was a warehouse in the mid 19th century, associated probably with the Bull Inn and later with 99 High Street. Almost certainly the building has earlier origins, however. A cottage here was acquired in 1494 by Thomas Poole of London, who ten years later conveyed it to trustees for charitable uses. During the 16th century it was usually called a woolhouse, and in the 17th century a barn. In 1580 the lessee was Burford’s leading mercer, Simon Wisdom. [BR 335–39, 342–3, 351, 353, 518–19]

Collection Items

The street continues with a further line of 17th-century rubble cottages, whose 19th-century occupants included labourers, a groom and gardener, an

This further row of probably 17th-century cottages has also been repeatedly altered, re-divided, and recombined. No.

No. 55 probably has 16th-century origins, and shows evidence of timber framing.

Like many buildings on this side of Witney Street, these three houses on the far side of Guildenford began as 17th-century cottages. At No.


Click on a marker to visit that item's page.