VCH Explore

Explore England's Past

Burford's Buildings, Central High Street

West Side: Priory Lane to Sheep Street

The western side of central High Street, rising gently from Priory Lane, also contains several medieval buildings, although most are hidden behind later façades and shopfronts. The row included two of Burford's principal medieval inns, both near the crossroads: the George (No. 104) and the New Inn (No. 124), later renamed the Crown. A small nearby building (No. 96) bears the mark of prominent 16th-century mercer Simon Wisdom. Four other buildings became inns or pubs in the 18th or 19th centuries, when most neighbouring buildings were shops. Two of Burford's cramped 19th-century cottage yards grew up behind Nos. 56 and 64 (The College) and No. 104 (George Yard).

Collection Items

This united rubblestone front conceals a jumble of rooms and phases and some re-used timber.

The earliest feature is a stone Caernarvon archway in the right-hand front room, with the characteristic ‘shoulders’ of the late 13th century.

A deed of 1608 records that this house had been recently rebuilt by John Collier (died 1634), keeper of the George Inn, who incorporated it into th

The early-to-mid 19th-century ashlar façade of this tall 3-storey building hides elements of a medieval house, including two 15th-century fireplace

From the late 18th century to c.1918 this was the Rose and Crown inn.


Click on a marker to visit that item's page.