VCH Explore

Explore England's Past

Burford's Buildings, Upper High Street and the Hill

West Side: Uphill from No. 154

As elsewhere in the town, several buildings along this stretch hide medieval cores behind more recent façades, confirming that medieval settlements extended to the top of the hill. No. 174 (with its imposing 18th-century front) contains 14th-century features, while Nos. 160-162 have dated 15th-century roofs, and the ground plans of Nos. 154-8 and 184-192 suggest that they incorporate medieval hall-houses.

Collection Items

The police station and court house were built in 1869, on a site bought by the Oxfordshire Clerk of the Peace the previous year.

These three separate houses may have begun as a single large medieval hall-house, the hall (with cellar) on the site of No.

Both houses contain medieval cores behind later façades, which were further remodelled in the 20th century. The roof structure of No.

Though substantially rebuilt, these two small cottages and two adjoining houses originated probably as two neighbouring medieval houses. Nos.

Until the 19th century this was a single house (as it still looks externally).


Click on a marker to visit that item's page.