VCH Explore

Explore England's Past



Content generated during research for two paperback books 'Ledbury: A Market Town and its Tudor Heritage' (ISBN 13 : 978-1-86077-598-7) and 'Ledbury: People and Parish before the Reformation' (ISBN 13 : 978-1-86077-614-4) for the England's Past for Everyone series

Elizabeth Barrett was born in 1806, the eldest daughter of Edward Moulton Barrett, a merchant with connections in the West Indies.

This volume, known as the 'Red Book',  contains rentals for the bishop of Hereford's manors.

George Paul was headmaster of Ledbury Boys School for over twenty years, from 1885 until 1917.

Every ten years since 1801, except in 1941, there has been a general census of the population of England and Wales.

This timber-framed, two storey house, now a restaurant, is one of the most prominent in The Homend, principally due to its two-storey jettied porch

Now housing a clothes shop, this is an early 17th century building that was remodelled in the late 18th century.

Now a modern shop, the previous building on this site was an early 17th century timber framed house with jettied first and second floors and remode

Now a dry cleaner's, this is an early 17th century timber-framed house that was refronted in the later 18th century.

No. 2 Homend has been demolished and the site is now occupied by the Barrett Browning Memorial Institute, built 1892-6.

This is a 17th century building probably of two bays, remodelled in the 18th century with a new brick front sporting four brick pilasters.