VCH Explore

Explore England's Past



Content generated during research for two paperback books 'Ledbury: A Market Town and its Tudor Heritage' (ISBN 13 : 978-1-86077-598-7) and 'Ledbury: People and Parish before the Reformation' (ISBN 13 : 978-1-86077-614-4) for the England's Past for Everyone series

This three-storey timber-framed building is, like the adjacent Abbey House, set on a high plinth.

Abbey House was built in around 1600.

Since it was visited by the RCHM inspector in 1930 this large building has had the 18th century stucco removed to reveal the timb

On the evidence of the continuity of the ceiling beams, it is likely that Nos.

The Talbot is one of the oldest inns in Ledbury, although it is not certain how long it has borne that name.

The 19th century brick facade hides a 16th- or 17th-century building.

This is an early 17th century timber-framed building with a later stucco covering and shop front.