VCH Explore

Explore England's Past



Content generated during research for two paperback books 'Ledbury: A Market Town and its Tudor Heritage' (ISBN 13 : 978-1-86077-598-7) and 'Ledbury: People and Parish before the Reformation' (ISBN 13 : 978-1-86077-614-4) for the England's Past for Everyone series

  This three-storey, timber-framed building, which is of late 16th century date, has close studding on the front and a jettied top floor.

Although disguised under 19th century stucco, there is evidence that this was one of a row of late 17th century timber framed houses on the east of

Despite its modern shop-front, number 10 High Street is at core a timber-framed building.

As part of the research into the history of Ledbury, building historian Duncan James produced a report on the timber-framed buildings of Ledbury: ‘

The whole urban hierarchy was knit together by its carriers. In 1637 John Taylor in his Carriers’ Cosmography wrote: ‘what a man sends to Hereford

The Wills and Inventories of Ledbury before 1541.

The will of Richard Beneas, 1504

The will of Giles Keyse, 1521

The New Inn was one of the important coaching inns in the later 18th and 19th centuries.

Henry Brookes was a fine example of the Victorian self-educated working man.

Bricks and tiles have been used for building in Ledbury for centuries.

Elizabeth Hall established an educational charity in Ledbury in 1706.