VCH Explore

Explore England's Past



Content generated during research for two paperback books 'Ledbury: A Market Town and its Tudor Heritage' (ISBN 13 : 978-1-86077-598-7) and 'Ledbury: People and Parish before the Reformation' (ISBN 13 : 978-1-86077-614-4) for the England's Past for Everyone series

Orchard Leigh

The author and poet John Masefield is one of Ledbury's most famous sons. He was born at the Knapp, in the Homend, in 1878.

©Hereford Museum

A fine pair of leather ladies' gloves, nineteenth century

The Barrett Browning Institute was opened on 16 January 1896.

The brick front of 8 High St, Ledbury, with its stone quoins and deep moulded cornice belongs to the first half of the 18th century but it is a re-

Although No. 3 High Street, with its 18th century brick front like others in the row, probably contains timber framing, it is well hidden.

Sited immediately alongside the chapel of St Katherine's, this three-storey timber-framed building is occupied by an optician's business.

24 High St , Ledbury, is an C19th brick three-storey building with additions in the C19th. In 1891 it was the Webb & Co Ledbury Old Bank, and b

21 High Street, Ledbury, was formerly known as the Biddulph Gallery and now houses a delicatessen, a kitchen shop, a cafe and a clothing store on t

When it was recorded in 1930 by the RCHM, the now exposed timber framing on the front of 9 High Street was hidden behind stucco, probably applied w