VCH Explore

Explore England's Past

Search

Codford station, with the stationmaster’s lodge nearby, opened in 1856 at the far south-west corner of the parish, and was linked to the main road

Codford was sited on an ancient road running on the north side of the river Wylye, from Warminster in the west to Wilton in the east.

For centuries, the Wylye Valley was an area of sheep farming and barley production, where the sheep were used to dung the land.

Chitterne brook runs into the river Wylye.  Codford owes its origins to the fords which crossed at this point.  On both sides of the Chitterne broo

The transformation of Salisbury Plain from sheep downland to military training grounds, between 1897 and 1914, coincided with the heyday of railway

Two important turnpike trusts, based in Amesbury and Fisherton Anger (Salisbury), were authorised in 1761 to take responsibility for long stretches