VCH Explore

Explore England's Past

Search

Somerset has a good selection of 17th and 18th century probate inventories for the west of the county but later ones are rare.

Longrun with its former farmstead is well known to dog walkers, runners, young people and others but the millpond is hidden and nearly dry and all

The medieval manor mill at Bishops Hull went out of use in the 1340s but by the late 16th century the parish was home to a large number of mills, a

Both Fideoak mill and Longaller mill in Bishops Hull were on Fideoak manor and were fulling mills in 1578 and presumably until the 17th century.

Unlike the other Bishops Hull mills Roughmoor mill was not on the river Tone but on one of its northern tributaries.