VCH Explore

Explore England's Past

Search

Ledbury Union Workhouse was built in 1836 in response to the Poor Law Amendment Act of 1834. For nearly 100 years it served the poor of Ledbury.

This five-bay, timber framed, two-storey range, laid out on an approximate east-west orientation, is a fine example of a timber-framed Tudor buildi

The Barrett Browning Institute was opened on 16 January 1896.

This two-storey timber-framed building is a key central structure in Ledbury and an important visual symbol of the town.

Ledbury Community Health and Care Centre was opened in 2002.

Elizabeth Hall established an educational charity in Ledbury in 1706.

This volume, known as the 'Red Book',  contains rentals for the bishop of Hereford's manors.