VCH Explore

Explore England's Past

Search

Wadham Locke, owner of Ashton Gifford House, built Ashton Gifford school at his own expense in 1844.

Codford St Mary’s former school, began in 1875 (date on porch) and was extended 1889-91 (date beneath bell).

Built on the side of the rectory, the village schoolroom was opened in 1823 with the aid of a £40 grant from teh Treasury.

Salisbury had markets on Tuesdays and Saturdays between 1361 and 1960; there was no market on the other four to encourage trade in Old Sarum and Wi