St Peter's church, which stood at the entrance to the medieval village from the west on the north side of the High Street, was made more impressive
Codford station, with the stationmaster’s lodge nearby, opened in 1856 at the far south-west corner of the parish, and was linked to the main road
The George Inn, first recorded in 1541, had become the stopping place for the Rocket stagecoach before 1800, and was described in 1787 as a stone a
Wadham Locke, owner of Ashton Gifford House, built Ashton Gifford school at his own expense in 1844.
Codford St Mary’s former school, began in 1875 (date on porch) and was extended 1889-91 (date beneath bell).
During the Victorian period, many parish churches were rebuilt or ‘restored’ to look like an idealised version of their medieval selves.
Codford, one of its most prominent citizens, James Raxworthy were at the centre of the Captain Swing riots in Wiltshire.
Until the 1850s, the road from Longbridge Deverill along the Deverill valley only went as far as the manor house of Hill Deverill.
Built on the side of the rectory, the village schoolroom was opened in 1823 with the aid of a £40 grant from teh Treasury.
The church at Brixton Deverill occupies a site next to the manor house, at the heart of the medieval village.