Codford was sited on an ancient road running on the north side of the river Wylye, from Warminster in the west to Wilton in the east.
Most of today’s settlement lies along the High Street, the old main road running slightly south-eastwards from Codford St Peter to the bridge over
For centuries, the Wylye Valley was an area of sheep farming and barley production, where the sheep were used to dung the land.
Chitterne brook runs into the river Wylye. Codford owes its origins to the fords which crossed at this point. On both sides of the Chitterne broo
In 1944 plans were drawn up by Warminster and Westbury RDC to build on the site of the American military camp, formally the old cherry orchard betw
When war returned in 1939 Codford was again chosen as a military garrison for many regiments from the British armed forces who were joined in 1943
Cold Kitchen Hill stands at the centre of the Deverill valley.
Until the 1850s, the road from Longbridge Deverill along the Deverill valley only went as far as the manor house of Hill Deverill.
There has probably been a park at Compton Chamberlayne since at least the 14th century, possibly even earlier.
Old Sarum in Wiltshire is well known as notorious rotten borough pre the 1832 reform act.