VCH Explore

Explore England's Past

Search

Basingstoke was enclosed by parliamentary enclosure in 1788. Basingstoke is a large parish of over 1,500 ha.

In the 1820s and 30s if you looked north from Basingstoke town centre two structures would dominate the top of the slope north of the River Loddon.

This article describes how the Anglo-Saxon manor of Overton included the valley of the River Test for habitation, pasture and mills as well as chal

This article describes how the Anglo-Saxon manor of Overton included the valley of the River Test for habitation, pasture and mills as well as chal

About half of the parish of Old Basing lies on chalk, with the sands and gravels of the Reading beds running through the centre of the village from

Dummer is described as being in the county of Southampton, the old name for Hampshire and is located 8 kilometres/6 miles to the south-west of Basi

Looking at a modern map there are no signs that Dummer ever had any windmills. By researching 18th and 19th century maps there is evidence of two.

Local trusts were obliged to erect milestones on turnpike roads by law in 1773.

The former iron foundry in Hook run by the Gower family on the London Road, opposite the Old White Hart Inn started production in 1826.