VCH Explore

Explore England's Past

Search

The brick front of 8 High St, Ledbury, with its stone quoins and deep moulded cornice belongs to the first half of the 18th century but it is a re-

©Hereford Museum

A fine pair of leather ladies' gloves, nineteenth century

The settlement which developed into Ledbury grew up in the Anglo-Saxon period at an important crossroads where the road from Hereford to Worcester

The Wills and Inventories of

The house and shop, No. 20 High Street at the corner of Worcester Road, is of three storeys of which the uppermost is an addition.

This was one of the original streets of the medieval town, its name recorded from 1288.

Church Street was formerly called Hallend, then Back Lane This road was probably the beginning of the early route from Ledbury to Worcester.

Despite its name, New Street is one of the oldest streets in Ledbury.

The Southend is one of the original medieval streets of Ledbury.

Pages