This is part of ongoing study of Basingstoke Union and Workhouse.
Sir Richard Aldworth (d.1646) left money to the Corporation of Basingstoke to educate ten boys of good and religious poor men of the town and to af
Transcriptions and analysis of all the censuses have been made by the New VCH Hampshire volunteer group based in Basingstoke.
Basingstoke was enclosed by parliamentary enclosure in 1788. Basingstoke is a large parish of over 1,500 ha.
In the 1820s and 30s if you looked north from Basingstoke town centre two structures would dominate the top of the slope north of the River Loddon.
In 1548 money from the Guild of the Holy Ghost Chapel was employed ‘to fynde a scole master to teche children grammar which hath been so continuall
Education in Basingstoke dates back to the 16th century with the founding of a school for boys attached to the Holy Ghost chapel. With numerous ch
Jane Austen was born at Steventon rectory in 1775.
Brewing in Basingstoke in the 18th century is illustrated by the inventory of brewer William Downes, who died in 1770 leaving considerable assets d
Basingstoke Poor Law Union was established in May 1835, under the new Poor Law Amendment Act of 1834.