First recorded as Le Herte in 1428-9, the White Hart was Henley's oldest functioning inn until its closure in 1996.
Until recent times, what buildings were constructed of was conditioned by what building materials were available locally.
Image: handbill advertising winter services from the White Hart Inn (by John Alleway), 1717. Read more, or read Alleway's will
The diaries of Caroline Powys (1738-1817) are one of the most vibrant and entertaining sources for the social life of the gentry and aristocracy in
The present-day Phyllis Court is a stuccoed, Italianate mansion house on Henley's northern edge, built in the early 1840s.
Image: an 'improved' Kennet or Thames and Severn canal-type barge at Henley bridge (engraving c.1834)
These transcripts are by members of the Burford/Henley probate group.
Image: The waterfront south of New Street around 1813, the former Anchor pub in the foreground.
Image: Culham Lock in 1888, a modern-style poundlock with gates at each end.