VCH Explore

Explore England's Past

Search

Henley from the Wargrave Road (detail) by Jan Siberechts: from an original painting in the River & Rowing Museum, Henley-on-Thames

First recorded as Le Herte in 1428-9, the White Hart was Henley's oldest functioning inn until its closure in 1996.

The present-day Phyllis Court is a stuccoed, Italianate mansion house on Henley's northern edge, built in the early 1840s.

Image: an 'improved' Kennet or Thames and Severn canal-type barge at Henley bridge (engraving c.1834)

These transcripts are by members of the Burford/Henley Probate Group. More will be added shortly.