Wouldham Hall Cement Works
The Downs above Upper Halling, looking south.
Upper Halling is one of the small villages that makes up the Medway Valley.
At the height of production at the end of the nineteenth century, some seventeen cement factories were working on the banks of the Medway between F
Halling High Street looking north c.1910. Although the shops on the left have gone, the buildings remain.
The Hook family came to Snodland in 1854 as the new owners of the paper mill.
At the time of its opening in October 1888, the location of this relatively remote chapel was described as ‘a perfect little paradise.’ Although it
In 1866 the rector of Weston Patrick converted a barn into a school at a cost of £30 which was supported by subscription and the scholars’ pence.
Victorian Asylum to Psychiatric Hospital
No. 125 includes another late-medieval building, encased in stone in the 18th century or earlier.
A timber-framed building of c.1500 lies behind this tall frontage.