VCH Explore

Explore England's Past

Search

In 1819 there were two schools in Upton Grey built on land owned by the Lord of the Manor, John Hanbury Beaufoy, which were supported on the Nation

At the time of its opening in October 1888, the location of this relatively remote chapel was described as ‘a perfect little paradise.’ Although it

This building at the top of Sarum Hill, Basingstoke, was erected in July 1883 by Colonel John May of May’s Brewery as a Drill Hall for K Company, 1

Sir Richard Aldworth (d.1646) left money to the Corporation of Basingstoke to educate ten boys of good and religious poor men of the town and to af

The accompanying graph shows the growth of carriers’ services centred on Basingstoke and extending to villages within a 6 to 8 mile radius of the t

In 1866 the rector of Weston Patrick converted a barn into a school at a cost of £30 which was supported by subscription and the scholars’ pence.

In 1548 money from the Guild of the Holy Ghost Chapel was employed ‘to fynde a scole master to teche children grammar which hath been so continuall

This period saw increasing numbers of children requiring education in Basingstoke and a constant struggle to supply sufficient places.

Methodism was late in coming to Cliddesden.

The Anvil concert hall has firmly established itself as one of the South’s leading venues with acoustics which are among the finest in the country.

Pages