Wouldham Hall Cement Works
Snodland’s last pre-war public building is the cinema built in 1912, now in use as a Roman Catholic church.
For 70 miles the River Medway runs through Kent shaping the landscape and providing opportunity for the people of the county.
Rochester Road, Burham, viewed from the south towards Rochester.
The Downs above Upper Halling, looking south.
Upper Halling is one of the small villages that makes up the Medway Valley.
The Ferry between Halling and Wouldham was very ancient and lasted about 600 years.
At the height of production at the end of the nineteenth century, some seventeen cement factories were working on the banks of the Medway between F
Halling High Street looking north c.1910. Although the shops on the left have gone, the buildings remain.
The Hook family came to Snodland in 1854 as the new owners of the paper mill.
Royal Engineers, Bridging Battalion in camp at Wouldham, 1905.