This building at the top of Sarum Hill, Basingstoke, was erected in July 1883 by Colonel John May of May’s Brewery as a Drill Hall for K Company, 1
Sir Richard Aldworth (d.1646) left money to the Corporation of Basingstoke to educate ten boys of good and religious poor men of the town and to af
In 1548 money from the Guild of the Holy Ghost Chapel was employed ‘to fynde a scole master to teche children grammar which hath been so continuall
From Mote Hall to Museum
St Michael's Church Cottage, Basingstoke: Uses and Occupants
Victorian Asylum to Psychiatric Hospital
A Great Thoroughfare.
The former site of the sheep fair on high ground in the south of the town was given by the Corporation in 1885 for the Board Schools to accommodate
Audleys Wood lies in the northeast corner of Cliddesden parish, its grounds separated from Hackwood Park by the road from Basingstoke to Alton.
This article traces the history of the fairs and markets from 1218 to the present day, including the commodities traded, how the markets were regul