VCH Explore

Explore England's Past

Search

The settlement which developed into Ledbury grew up in the Anglo-Saxon period at an important crossroads where the road from Hereford to Worcester

The Somers' Arms, Eastnor seems to be named after the Somers-Cocks family, lords of the manor of Eastnor.

There are no maps earlier than 1876 detailed enough to show property in the surveyed area, but we do know that a Charles Stringer in 1851 lived in

This rubblestone façade would once have been rendered: most of the window surrounds have been pecked to allow render to adhere properly, in an 18th

The double-gabled smooth stone frontage of c.1903 conceals remains of another medieval house.

The builder of this impressive, late 18th-century 3-storey frontage, with its symmetrical façade of ashlar limestone, is unknown.

This narrow cottage (now a shop) occupies a small plot probably severed from No. 67 next door.

A substantial house occupied this large site by 1665, when it had at least 10 fireplaces.

In 1552 this may have been the half burgage-plot belonging to Thomas Chadwell of Little Barrington (Glos.).

Behind the 18th-century ashlar façade, rebuilt in the 1970s after a collapse, is a 5-bay late medieval house, whose roof has principal-rafter truss

Pages