VCH Explore

Explore England's Past


Forge Cottage and its smithy, now a florist's shop

The lower part of High Street, Dulverton in 2008

Traditional haymaking near Winsford

Although No. 3 High Street, with its 18th century brick front like others in the row, probably contains timber framing, it is well hidden.

On the evidence of the continuity of the ceiling beams, it is likely that Nos.

The George Inn, first recorded in 1541, had become the stopping place for the Rocket stagecoach before 1800, and was described in 1787 as a stone a

At Home Close on the High Street (once the Post Office and for a time Shirley House), a half storey and a south-west wing were added to the mid-17t