The small parish of Timberscombe in the Avill valley south of Dunster, far away from the theatres of war, showed extraordinary patriotism following
Richard Elsworthy or Ellsworth of Bickham in Timberscombe left £200 in 1714 to build a charity school and library.
Mary Haynes and her sister Margaret who married Peter Elsworthy of Bickham must have made a great impression when they arrived at Timberscombe.
Providence Bible Christian Chapel was built near the village mill by Edward Cording of Croydon in Carhampton and opened on 27 March 1836.
Alesellers were recorded in Timberscombe from 1407 and one of its 19th-century public houses survives in the centre of the village.