VCH Explore

Explore England's Past

Search

Sir Richard Aldworth (d.1646) left money to the Corporation of Basingstoke to educate ten boys of good and religious poor men of the town and to af

Basingstoke was enclosed by parliamentary enclosure in 1788. Basingstoke is a large parish of over 1,500 ha.

In the 1820s and 30s if you looked north from Basingstoke town centre two structures would dominate the top of the slope north of the River Loddon.

In 1548 money from the Guild of the Holy Ghost Chapel was employed ‘to fynde a scole master to teche children grammar which hath been so continuall

Education in Basingstoke dates back to the 16th century with the founding of a school for boys attached to the Holy Ghost chapel.  With numerous ch

Brewing in Basingstoke in the 18th century is illustrated by the inventory of brewer William Downes, who died in 1770 leaving considerable assets d

Many villagers depended for small purchases on travelling salesmen or chapmen who sold  personal goods such as gloves, lace, pins, stockings, handk

The attached document tells the story of the violent burglary at Buckskin Farm, Basingstoke in 1832, and the eventual capture of the robbers.

Pages