Cape Cornwall is located near St Just-in-Penwith. It is the remains of a small medieval chapel, used as a farm building.
In Ault Hucknall, as in most communities, the oldest surviving building is the parish church.
There were Jewish inhabitants at an early date, a rabbi and small congregation by the late 18th century, and a greater influx after 1870, of Lithua
St Peter’s church, Monkwearmouth, formed part of the Anglo Saxon monastery founded in c.673 by Benedict Biscop.
Holy Trinity, attributed to the architect William Etty, was built in 1719 to serve the newly created parish of Sunderland.
St Catherine's chapel, Hylton Castle
The Anglo-Saxon monastery at Wearmouth (Monkwearmouth) was founded in 673 by the Northumbrian nobleman, Benedict Biscop and was supported by a larg
After its destruction by the Vikings the once proud Anglo-Saxon monastery of Wearmouth remained ruinous and uninhabited until the later 11th centur
The parish church of St Michael and All Angels in Bishopwearmouth belonged to the bishop of Durham, who appointed its rectors.
By the early 1700s the wealthy urban élite of Sunderland were complaining that most pews in Bishopwearmouth were owned by local landowners.