VCH Explore

Explore England's Past

Search

This building at the top of Sarum Hill, Basingstoke, was erected in July 1883 by Colonel John May of May’s Brewery as a Drill Hall for K Company, 1

St Michael's Church Cottage, Basingstoke: Uses and Occupants

The ruined chapels close to Basingstoke railway station are as much a landmark today as they were to Thomas Hardy.

For a short period during the second half of the nineteenth century, there was a Bible Christian presence in Basingstoke.

At the time of the 1851 Religious Census, there were two Independent Chapels in Basingstoke.

In 1902 Church of England services were held at St Michael’s Church and at two mission rooms: the Reading Road Mission Room serving the east of the

In 1913 London Street Congregational Church in Basingstoke purchased and reopened the Nonconformist Mission Hall in May Street, which had formerly

Although the primary concern of churches has always been the spiritual wellbeing of their congregations, many have also contributed to the social l

Although the primary concern of churches has always been the spiritual wellbeing of their congregations, many have also contributed to the social l

For over 200 years, one of the most distinctive features of Basingstoke’s ecclesiastical landscape was a Countess of Huntingdon’s Connexion church.

Pages