In 1819 there were two schools in Upton Grey built on land owned by the Lord of the Manor, John Hanbury Beaufoy, which were supported on the Nation
The chalklands of Hampshire form a wide band roughly from east to west across the county.
On census night, 30th March 1851, there were 4263 residents, (2058 male and 2205 female), of whom just over half, 2198, were born within 1 mile of
The riots against the Salvation Army in Basingstoke in the early 1880s gave rise to questions in the House of Commons, led to the publication of a
This is part of ongoing study of Basingstoke Union and Workhouse.
Basingstoke Inns, Beerhouses and associated businesses in the 1851 census.
At the time of its opening in October 1888, the location of this relatively remote chapel was described as ‘a perfect little paradise.’ Although it
This building at the top of Sarum Hill, Basingstoke, was erected in July 1883 by Colonel John May of May’s Brewery as a Drill Hall for K Company, 1
Sir Richard Aldworth (d.1646) left money to the Corporation of Basingstoke to educate ten boys of good and religious poor men of the town and to af
Transcriptions and analysis of all the censuses have been made by the New VCH Hampshire volunteer group based in Basingstoke.