There must have been a church at Codford St Mary long before the first written reference to it in 1282.
St Peter's church, which stood at the entrance to the medieval village from the west on the north side of the High Street, was made more impressive
Codford’s village theatre resulted from a society scandal during 1924-5, involving a young adventuress and a retired colonel, whom she married for
The cap badge on the slope above Foxhole Bottom, made by Australian troops, 1916-17, incorporating glass beer bottle bases. Polishing the bottles
Codford station, with the stationmaster’s lodge nearby, opened in 1856 at the far south-west corner of the parish, and was linked to the main road
The military cemetery in Codford St Mary, the second largest of its kind in the UK, lies in a peaceful spot by the parish church and contains the g
Codford Circle, with its bank and ditch, viewed from the air looking south, with Punch Bowl Bottom to the right.
Discovered built into the wall above the chancel arch of St Peter’s church in 1864, this Anglo-Saxon sculpture now stands against the north chancel
Codford had no country seat until the early 19th century when Ashton Gifford House, set in a small ornamental park, took that role.
Codford was sited on an ancient road running on the north side of the river Wylye, from Warminster in the west to Wilton in the east.