The Cavendish chapel was built in 1618 as a final resting place for the tomb of Sir Charles Cavendish and his wife, Catherine Ogle.
The interior of the Cavendish chapel built in 1618 as a final resting place for the tomb of Sir Charles Cavendish and his wife, Catherine Ogle. Cav
Produced by University of London
Chatsworth was transformed in the 1680s from Sir William Cavendish's Elizabethan house with four tall ranges round a small courtyard into a fashion
An agreement made in 1656 between the 3rd earl of Devonshire's receiver, Humphrey Poole, and nine colliers concerning the working of coal at Heath.
Ropewalks were a striking feature in the 17th and 18th centuries, situated on the edge of town on both north and south sides of the river Wear, one
By 1700, the fords used by medieval and early modern travellers had more or less disappeared from the lower reaches of the Wear.
A view of the coastline and town from the sea would have been the first sight of Sunderland for most visitors before 1800.
The coal trade was at the centre of Sunderland's 17th-c. prosperity, and continued to thrive through the 18th century.