When war returned in 1939 Codford was again chosen as a military garrison for many regiments from the British armed forces who were joined in 1943
During the Victorian period, many parish churches were rebuilt or ‘restored’ to look like an idealised version of their medieval selves.
Codford has a number of ancient farms.
Although (as in the First World War) many regiments of British Servicemen were garrisoned at Codford, during the Second World War they were also jo
Since 1940 about 94 acres of grassland ploughed up; some land taken for military use in Codford’s Manor Farm. At the larger East Farm, almost 400 a
Lying between the river Wylye and the Warminster to Shaftesbury road (A350), Sir James Thynne’s almshouses are a two-storey stone building with sto
Rebuilt and much altered c. 1700, Hill Deverill manor house is a two-storey stone house of medieval origins.
Cold Kitchen Hill stands at the centre of the Deverill valley.
Until the 1850s, the road from Longbridge Deverill along the Deverill valley only went as far as the manor house of Hill Deverill.
Built on the side of the rectory, the village schoolroom was opened in 1823 with the aid of a £40 grant from teh Treasury.