Lying between the river Wylye and the Warminster to Shaftesbury road (A350), Sir James Thynne’s almshouses are a two-storey stone building with sto
Rebuilt and much altered c. 1700, Hill Deverill manor house is a two-storey stone house of medieval origins.
Cold Kitchen Hill stands at the centre of the Deverill valley.
Until the 1850s, the road from Longbridge Deverill along the Deverill valley only went as far as the manor house of Hill Deverill.
Built on the side of the rectory, the village schoolroom was opened in 1823 with the aid of a £40 grant from teh Treasury.
The church at Brixton Deverill occupies a site next to the manor house, at the heart of the medieval village.
Whilst much of the body of the church dates from a restoration by Manners and Gill in 1846, the tower is 15th-century.
The nonconformist chapel at Horningsham.
Compton House is an extensive house that stands at the heart of Compton Park in the village of Compton Chamberlayne.
There has probably been a park at Compton Chamberlayne since at least the 14th century, possibly even earlier.