VCH Explore

Explore England's Past

Search

Since it was visited by the RCHM inspector in 1930 this large building has had the 18th century stucco removed to reveal the timb

Abbey House was built in around 1600.

No. 2 Homend has been demolished and the site is now occupied by the Barrett Browning Memorial Institute, built 1892-6.

Burford parish church, its elegant 15th-century spire visible for miles around, is the town’s earliest and largest communal building. In both size

Timber-framed and set on octagonal stone columns, the Tolsey is typical of a broad range of market houses, town halls, and moot- or guildhalls foun

This site will soon contain all Burford wills and inventories for 1500-1699. There will be a glossary to help with obscure words.

This site will soon contain all Burford wills and inventories for 1500-1699. There will be a glossary to help with obscure words.

Above: Simon Wisdom's merchant's mark at 96 High Street (top left), with the date 1578

Pages