A market has occured in Marlborough throughout its history as was vital to trading in the town.
Marlborough common exists at the heart of the settlement.
First cathedral was built between 1075 & 1092 by the Bishop Osmond a larger building was on the site circa 1120.
In 1866 the rector of Weston Patrick converted a barn into a school at a cost of £30 which was supported by subscription and the scholars’ pence.
Trowbridge Barracks was erected in Bradley Road in 1794 by contractor John Scobell.