An earlier house here is documented from 1435.
The three rubblestone cottages numbered 20, 22 and 24 are probably all of 17th-century origin, and may have once formed a single property: the fron
This smart 17th-century façade of neatly squared limestone blocks, with characteristic drip-moulds over the first-floor windows, probably unites tw
The Bear Inn was established here probably in the late 1640s by Thomas Matthews (died 1680).
The rendered façade of this tall narrow building hides a medieval timber-framed house, owned in 1489 by John Bishop.
From the Middle Ages to its closure c.1800 this was one of Burford's most important inns, located close to the Tolsey and opposite Witney Street.
Through the medieval archway to the left of No.
Though a shared Cotswold-slate roof now links this range with Nos. 54–56, the varied stone façades confirm their separate histories. No.
The squared and dressed stonework visible above the projecting 19th-century shopfront, laid in regular courses, is probably late 17th-century.
These two buildings probably began as a single late-medieval range: No.