VCH Explore

Explore England's Past

Search

The medieval manor mill at Bishops Hull went out of use in the 1340s but by the late 16th century the parish was home to a large number of mills, a

Both Fideoak mill and Longaller mill in Bishops Hull were on Fideoak manor and were fulling mills in 1578 and presumably until the 17th century.

Unlike the other Bishops Hull mills Roughmoor mill was not on the river Tone but on one of its northern tributaries.

The war memorial for Bishops Hull stands in a prominent position in the centre of the village.

These wills from the Gloucestershire Archives for Cheltenham and adjoining parishes have been transcribed by Judy Kimber on behalf of VCH Glouceste

These wills from Gloucestershire Archives have been transcribed for VCH Gloucestershire by Judy Kimber.

These wills from Gloucestershire Archives have been transcribed for VCH Gloucestershire by Judy Kimber.

Mary Sweet was the creator of the western side of the present Castle Hotel, Taunton in the 1830s.

Norton Fitzwarren on the outskirts of Taunton was a site of national importance during the Second World War with several miltary sites

Norton Fitzwarren was an important military site in the Second World War which left a  lasting legacy to the parish.

Pages