Behind the 17th- and 18th-century fronts of these four separate houses and shops are remains of more medieval buildings. Nos.
This imposing, early 18th-century ashlar front in Taynton stone hides remains of a 15th- or 16th-century building behind.
A 17th-century front (now rendered) hides another building of medieval origin.
Though substantially remodelled both buildings are of medieval origin, and were apparently of moderately high status.
At No. 94, now called Christmas Court, the canopy with supporting columns, the boxed shopfront, and the bay windows are all 19th-century.
This united rubblestone front conceals a jumble of rooms and phases and some re-used timber.
The earliest feature is a stone Caernarvon archway in the right-hand front room, with the characteristic ‘shoulders’ of the late 13th century.
A deed of 1608 records that this house had been recently rebuilt by John Collier (died 1634), keeper of the George Inn, who incorporated it into th
The early-to-mid 19th-century ashlar façade of this tall 3-storey building hides elements of a medieval house, including two 15th-century fireplace
From the late 18th century to c.1918 this was the Rose and Crown inn.